The 5 Greatest Edmonton Oilers

1984-85 Edmonton Oilers

The Edmonton Oilers, founded in 1972, are one of the most successful franchises in NHL history. Known for their high-octane offense and talented players, the Oilers have won the Stanley Cup five times. Here are some of the greatest Edmonton Oilers players, along with a brief history of the franchise:

  1. Wayne Gretzky:
    Wayne Gretzky, often referred to as “The Great One,” is widely regarded as the greatest hockey player of all time. During his time with the Oilers from 1979 to 1988, Gretzky dominated the league, setting numerous records. He won four Stanley Cups with the team and led the league in scoring for seven consecutive seasons.
  2. Mark Messier:
    Mark Messier, a legendary leader and fierce competitor, played a crucial role in the Oilers’ success. Alongside Gretzky, Messier helped Edmonton win five Stanley Cups. Known for his physical play and clutch performances, he served as the team’s captain and was a driving force behind their championship runs.
  3. Jari Kurri:
    Jari Kurri formed a formidable partnership with Gretzky, earning the nickname “The Finnish Flash.” As one of the most lethal goal scorers in NHL history, Kurri won five Stanley Cups with the Oilers. His ability to find the back of the net consistently and contribute in big moments was instrumental to the team’s success.
  4. Paul Coffey:
    Paul Coffey, a dynamic offensive defenseman, brought a unique skill set to the Oilers. His blazing speed and offensive prowess made him a significant threat on the blue line. Coffey played a vital role in transitioning the Oilers from defense to attack and contributed to their championship victories.
  5. Grant Fuhr:
    Grant Fuhr, a highly skilled goaltender, provided stability between the pipes for the Oilers. His agility, quick reflexes, and ability to make game-changing saves were instrumental in the team’s success. Fuhr played a pivotal role in helping Edmonton secure five Stanley Cups.

Brief History of the Edmonton Oilers

The Edmonton Oilers joined the NHL as one of the four teams added in the 1979 expansion. In their early years, they struggled but quickly turned their fortunes around with the arrival of Wayne Gretzky. Under the guidance of coach Glen Sather, the Oilers built a dynamic team with a fast-paced, high-scoring style of play that revolutionized the game.

During the 1980s, the Oilers were a dominant force in the NHL, winning five Stanley Cups in a seven-year span (1984, 1985, 1987, 1988, and 1990). Led by Gretzky, Messier, Kurri, Coffey, and others, the team showcased unparalleled skill and offensive firepower. Their fast-paced, high-scoring style earned them the nickname “The Boys on the Bus.”

In 1988, the Oilers traded Gretzky to the Los Angeles Kings, marking the end of an era. Despite his departure, the team remained competitive and won another Stanley Cup in 1990. However, they underwent a period of transition in the 1990s and early 2000s, struggling to replicate their earlier success.

In recent years, the Oilers have seen a resurgence with the emergence of star forward Connor McDavid, who has become one of the league’s most electrifying players. With a talented roster and promising young core, the team aims to add to its storied history and bring the Stanley Cup back to Edmonton.

The Edmonton Oilers’ rich history is defined by their incredible success during the 1980s and the talented players who donned the team’s colors. Their dynamic style of play and legendary players continue to leave an indelible mark on the NHL and inspire future generations of hockey players.

Leave a Response