1984 Stanley Cup Finals

The 1984 Stanley Cup Finals was contested by the Edmonton Oilers and the New York Islanders. The Oilers won the best-of-five series 4-1 to win their first Stanley Cup in franchise history. Oilers’ center Wayne Gretzky was awarded the Conn Smythe Trophy as the Most Valuable Player of the playoffs. The Oilers were led by a talented roster that included Gretzky, Mark Messier, Jari Kurri, and Paul Coffey and this marked the beginning of a successful period for the franchise, as they went on to win five Stanley Cups in seven years. The Islanders were the defending champions and were seeking their fifth consecutive Stanley Cup, but were unable to match their previous success.