1981 Stanley Cup Finals

The 1981 Stanley Cup Finals was contested by the New York Islanders and the Minnesota North Stars. The Islanders won the best-of-seven series 4-1 to win their second consecutive Stanley Cup. Islanders’ center Mike Bossy was awarded the Conn Smythe Trophy as the Most Valuable Player of the playoffs. The Islanders continued their dominance with a talented roster that included Bryan Trottier, Denis Potvin, and Billy Smith. This win marked the second in a string of four consecutive Stanley Cup championships for the Islanders. The North Stars were making their first trip to the Stanley Cup Final in franchise history.